Money lives in New York. Power sits in Washington. Freedom sips Cappuccino in a sidewalk cafe in San Francisco.

2013 was the year of many changes. For me one of the biggest changes was an upcoming business trip for 3 months in SF. With Stanfy we had opened an office there just less than a year ago and it was my turn to go across the ocean to represent our company and find many new wealthy clients. Challenge accepted!

America. Silicon Valley. Tech. Startups. Meetups. Networking. Clients. Contracts. There was so much of new stuff, so many new people and new impressions. I hope I’ll still share some of them later. However, what truly stroke me the most were not the huge American portions of food, extremely ambitious young entrepreneurs or the big city rush. It was the city itself. You can go around the world, but you will find no place like San Francisco.

I am not saying it’s perfect or even close to that, but there is something about it. The city has its own vibe. It’s hard to explain it. You got to really feel it. It’s  very different, yet harmonious. It has beautiful Italianate houses on one side of the street and Tenderloin slums on the other. It’s like a perfect drug: both seductive and stimulating. You can addicted right away. To be honest I’ve never met anyone who had visited SF and didn’t like it! Just after a couple of days there it feels like you’ve lived here your whole life.

“Money lives in New York. Power sits in Washington. Freedom sips Cappuccino in a sidewalk cafe in San Francisco.”

~ Joe Flower

I’ve never met so many people that loved their city as I did in San Francisco. I’ve never thought that a city can be much more that just a  buildings, cars in the street and rushing crowds. Five months in SF not only made me fall in love with the city, but also changed my attitude towards any place in the world you are staying at.

Now I am not afraid to move. Now when I walk around, I look around more often. Now I try not only to live in the city, but to live with it. To feel it, to write about it. Wherever I am or I will be.

Thank you, San Francisco!

Sidewalk in SF

One thought on “Money lives in New York. Power sits in Washington. Freedom sips Cappuccino in a sidewalk cafe in San Francisco.

  1. Pingback: Choco_Yuli: Tech & Travel

Leave a Reply

